CPL Renewal Requirements: A Michigan CPL is valid for 5 years. Michigan law requires that all CPL renewal applicants self-certify that they have completed at least three hours of review of the required training and have had at least one hour of firing range time within the six months immediately preceding a renewal application. This does not mean that you have to take a class, but for many, a class is the best way to comply, especially if you are not confident with the training you received or have not kept up to date on the legal aspects of your training.
Review of the required training: This can be done on your own by reviewing the training that you had from your last CPL Course or by taking a course that meets the training requirements. Because the laws are always changing please be aware that the materials from your original CPL class may be outdated.
Firing Range Time: This requirement can be satisfied simply by going to a range and practicing with your pistol for an hour. We would suggest additional training from an instructor if you haven’t been practicing on a consistent basis or do not feel confident in your ability to defend yourself. For many, the training that was required for your CPL class only met the minimum requirements to handle a firearm safely and did little to teach you in a way that gives you the confidence you need to defend yourself.
Renewal Application: Once you have the training and review needed to self-certify that you have met the requirements of the law, you can then apply for your renewal online at SOS.com, in person, or even by mail. Note that saying you have reviewed the training and went to the range if you have not, is a felony punishable by imprisonment of up to 4 years. The county clerk (where your permit was last issued) is supposed to mail you a renewal notice (by first-class mail, not less than 3 months or more than 6 months before your expiration date). Be aware that if you forget to renew and are caught carrying your concealed pistol even one day after your permit is expired you can be arrested, your gun taken, and charged with a felony.